How To Repurpose Content Effectively

The 1% Newsletter Edition 7 šŸš€

Welcome to the 7th edition of The 1% Newsletter.

This week, weā€™ve crossed 1500 subscribers and we are joined by 84 new readers.

Itā€™s my pleasure to welcome you all to The 1% Club.

Today weā€™ll be continuing with part two of our three-part series:

  1. Three mistakes Iā€™ve made as a creator āœ”ļø

  2. How to repurpose content effectively

  3. The science behind viral thread hooks

In case you missed the previous edition, you can check it out right here.

Bonus: thereā€™s one special gift and one special announcement at the end of this newsletter.

Letā€™s get started.

Estimated reading time: 4 minutes.

Content Repurposing

In the last edition, we covered:

  • Three mistakes Iā€™ve made as a creator

  • The solutions to overcome each misconception

There is one crucial mistake that I would add to that list:

Not repurposing my content enough.

Let me explain.

Repurposing content simply means recycling, restructuring or replicating your content.

Itā€™s exactly how your favourite creators never run out of ideas to share with their audience.

But I couldnā€™t grasp this concept at first.

  • How would my audience perceive it?

  • Isnā€™t it ā€˜unethicalā€™ to replicate content?

  • Would they notice and criticise what I share?

  • How can anyone reuse the same idea multiple times?

For the first six months, I sought after new content ideas on a daily basis.

Everything that I published had to be unique ā€” almost exceptional.

Setting these absolute standards was a significant decision. But using content just once made my Twitter experience a lot harder than it needed to be.

Final exams, internships, and content creation pushed me to my limits.

To tell you the truth, there were several times when I considered giving up.

But out of the blue, something clicked.

JK Molina mentioned something on a podcast thatā€™s stuck with me to this day:

ā€œTwitter is nothing but saying the same thing, a thousand different ways.ā€

To put this into perspective, hereā€™s a tweet from Justin Welsh:

Letā€™s crunch the numbers.

If you published a tweet to 10,000 followers:

  • 7500 people didnā€™t see it

  • 8000 people wonā€™t remember it

  • 100% of your new followers never saw it

Take a second to understand this.

Isn't it incredible?

Over the last few months, I started repurposing content more than ever before.

And the results have blown me away.

Letā€™s inspect three examples of my experiment with content repurposing and the lessons you can takeaway.

1. Switch The Hook

Couple of months ago, I published a thread detailing the exact steps to learn, practice, and master any skill.

That was the same day I crossed 10,000 followers.

From start to finish, it took nearly three hours ā€” this included the research, ideation, structure, first draft and final edits.

Two months later, that number had jumped to 15,503 followers.

Thatā€™s a 55% increase in a brief space of time.

To test out the effectiveness of content repurposing, I decided to:

  • Completely rewrite the hook

  • Make adjustments to the body

  • Analyse my audienceā€™s response

Here are the results.

The first thread:

The second thread:

The amount of likes, retweets and overall engagement remained roughly the same.

However the impressions increased by 27,000!

Not too bad for a repurposed thread, right?

To take it a step further, I asked several members of my audience if they noticed that it was repurposed.

Guess what? Nobody did.

Lesson: Republish one of your older threads with a different hook. There should be a decent time interval between the two posts.

Let's take a look at another example.

2. Replicate The Tweet

This method is simple and easy to apply.

It's even better if you have a stacked content library to work with.

To explain this, you need to understand the SCAMPER method.

  • Substitute

  • Combine

  • Add

  • Modify

  • Put to another use

  • Eliminate

  • Rearrange

98% of the tweet is the same.

The central idea, the emotion, the structure.

All I did was eliminate and replace certain words.

Lesson: Try out the scamper method with one of your tweets or threads and hit publish.

Onto the final example.

3. Cross Platform Repurpose

When I started creating content for Instagram, I wasnā€™t sure where to begin.

  • Reels

  • Stories

  • Videos

  • Carousels

Rather than spending hours ideating and creating new content - I thought to myself, why not share my ideas from one platform to another?

The tweet above was one of my best performing tweets.

And I knew that since it worked on one platform, thereā€™s a good chance it would work on another.

I published a screenshot of the tweet on Instagram and let the post work its magic.

You can test this out in multiple different ways:

  • Newsletter articles into Medium posts

  • Tweets and threads into YouTube videos

  • Threads converted into LinkedIn carousels

  • Tweets and threads repurposed as Instagram posts

The options are endless.

Lesson: Repurpose or replicate one of your validated pieces of content on another platform.

Alright, once again as promised here is your second gift of this series:

You can use this resource to analyse your account, track conversions, simplify engagement, refine your bookmarks, and much more.

Now onto the special announcement:

You will learn how to write threads that drive traffic, leads and results.

We will be covering:

  1. The fundamentals of Twitter threads

  2. Ideating a thread

  3. Mastering the hook

  4. Creating a thread skeleton

  5. Writing the draft

  6. The edit and publish framework

  7. Questions and answers

You will also receive the recording of our session, summary notes and a plug and play template for your next thread.

Lastly, thank you to all 1522 members of The 1% Newsletter for reading this edition.

If you'd like to reach out to me, you can reply to this email and I'll get back to you soon as possible.

I hope you have a fantastic day ahead.

Stay tuned for part three of this series; The Science Behind Viral Thread Hooks.

Dr Pranav

@The1stReporter